Brandon
49 reviews
  1. Suburb of Jackson, MS
Back to Brandon Home

Reviews

49 reviews
  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    19
  • Average
    13
  • Poor
    5
  • Terrible
    0
Brandon, MS is a great town to have a family in. Brandon is a smaller town but has of the desired amenities needed. The school system is fantastic and it is a very safe area to live in. Brandon really has a small town, family feel to it.
  • Former Resident
  • 18 days ago
Brandon is a safe, friendly place to live that offers many food and shopping opportunities. In addition, the fire and police are hard working who love their town.
  • Current Resident
  • 21 days ago
community is very nice and active. people do not just sit around all day and do nothing they get out and help people
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I love the area. I moved here in 5th grade. Being from a small town like Laurel, it was a whole new world to me. I live not too far from Dogwood Mall. When I moved here, there was only the section with Belk. I love how it has expanded. There's so much to do and see. Its a great family area. Great school district.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I adore this community. Low crime rate, safe neighborhoods, thriving local businesses. Minutes to everything you need!
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Brandon, Mississippi is a wonderful, safe place to live and raise a family. The schools, law enforcement, library, restaurants, and shopping centers are all top notch. I was raised in a small community south of Brandon called Star. Once I graduated from high school, we moved to Brandon. As Americans, we have a lot of worries about our safety today. I know that by living in Brandon, my safety is a top priority, along with every other resident. I also know my child will get an excellent education by attending a school in Brandon, MS.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Brandon is a nice kind of large city that has great people and schools. There is not much to do in brandon, because it does not have any movie theaters, roller skating rings, or any big stores. All of that is found in Pearl and Flowood areas, but if you like the outdoors and are looking for work; Brandon is a good place to be. There is a library, and Shiloh park where all sports are played. In order to have any livestock though, you need to live outside the city limits. Brandon is still a growing community with many new roads and buildings being added to it, so there is no telling what will be brought up in the near future.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
The area is very safe. There actually really isn't a need for police officers to patrol the area because everyone in the area are very civilized. There were only two incidents where the police had to come to the area and the reason was some of the neighborhoods were making loud noises. Other than that everything is peaceful.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
The experience is a very pleasant one. The residents of the area are very diverse and friendly.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
a good place to live
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
I have felt safe during my entire time here. It obviously isn't perfect, but I personally have never felt unsafe.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
Everyone is very friendly, and overall, I feel very safe in this place.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
I see more growth coming to this area. Its a great place to live and the school systems are excellent.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 17 2015
I love living in our town. I feel completely confident that I am raising my child in a safe community with values. This is very important to me. The schools here are full of academic, athletic, & artistic opportunities. If I had choose to live here again I would definitely do it. We could chosen to live anywhere with my husband's job and it was no question that we wanted to live and raise a family here.
  • Parent
  • July 11 2015
Once you get used to the Mississippi weather, you learn to love the humidity and moderate temperatures. Once you go anywhere else, you learn that you'll eventually miss the humidity. If you don't, your sinuses sure will.
  • Niche User
  • June 10 2015
There's no activities to do, such as go to the movies, go mini-golfing, go to an upper-level restaurant, go to the club..nothing. You can go to Walmart and get fast food. Those are the only 2 things to do in a city like Brandon. If I could do it all over again, I would not live here. The drivers are bad, the parks are bad, there's nothing to do, etc. Brandon High School made my entire high school experience miserable. Rankin County School District could have handled many issues better than they did. As for the future of this area, I hope they actually start to develop on the land that we have available for the city to expand. But as for now, the economy will continue to depend on the fast food chains and taxpayer money that just goes to fix an occasional pothole.
  • Niche User
  • June 10 2015
The only place to drink in Brandon is either at your own home or the bar at Applebee's. Recently, Brandon passed a liquor law, hoping that more restaurants with bars would come to MS. Nearly a year later, no luck. There are no bars or clubs here. We barely have restaurants that stay open past 12. The variety is typical of a city with nothing but fast food joints. Maybe I have just lived here too long and can't find anything new to eat because I've eaten it all.
  • Niche User
  • June 10 2015
Like I said in a previous answer, businesses just are not moving to Brandon. There's plenty of development space but no companies just busting to build here. Smoothie King, Steak Escape, and Lost Pizza Co. have become the only places in Brandon for teenagers to look for a job without having to go next door to Flowood, MS, where I work at Outback Steakhouse.
  • Niche User
  • June 10 2015
Most of the places that come to Brandon are the typical fast-food chain restaurants, such as McDonald's, Wendy's, etc. We really don't have many mom-and-pop restaurants. One that we do have, J&J Deli, is fantastic. But we lack in locally-owned businesses and retail stores. Beyond Walmart and Cato, along with maybe three or four scattered boutiques, we have to go to Flowood to do any kind of retail shopping. In the last several years, the only businesses that have come to Brandon are Smoothie King, Lost Pizza Co., and Steak Escape.
  • Niche User
  • June 10 2015
We are close to our neighbors but not to close. We have room to do our on thing and not worry about them. The other houses are about the same.
  • Niche User
  • May 29 2015
  • 1 of 3
Back to Brandon Home