Branford
36 reviews
  1. Suburb of New Haven, CT
Back to Branford Home

Reviews

36 reviews
  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    18
  • Average
    15
  • Poor
    0
  • Terrible
    0
My boyfriend and I love the town of Branford and I feel like it's a great place for everyone! Whether you have a big family or you are a single person, the town is a fun yet safe place for everyone. Homes are a little pricey and I would like to see a little more diversity.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I moved to Branford eleven years ago with my husband and son while I was pregnant with our first daughter. My son was in elementary school in a different town having difficulty with reading at t he time and we transferred him to Branford schools and he improved tremendously. Branford's town green is wonderful. There are great little shops that are affordable and very good restaurants. During the summer months Branford holds Jazz on the green. It's a great time where people from surrounding communities come to listen to different jazz bands every week.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Crime has very recently gone up, especially violent crimes. Less petty crimes arrests, more serious arrests (i.e. sexual molestation, etc.). You only know about it if you know or know of the criminal or read about it.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
People are pretty rude and stuck up here. If you're not a rich white person then you get crucified. Typical.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
I really like how businesses are consistent. You're not too far from from a bus stop or anything to get to where you're going.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
I feel like the crime and safety could be improved in this area
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
Its a great place to live! a bunch of friendly people here!
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
This is a very safe and comfortable place to live.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
The shoreline is certainly the place to be in the beautiful summer months, but in all seasons it has an indescribable feel that eventually draws everyone back.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
There are police in several areas of the streets keeping watch. Not too much crime occurs regularly in the area.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
I haven't lived in many other areas so i can't elaborate but it's better than living in the city where it's busy 24/7. It's a boring place but that has it's upsides as well.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
The police aren't fantastic, but they do their job
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
It's where I grew up, so I enjoy the homey feeling
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
I love where I live. I grew up in this town and I have moved back. My family is here. There is not to much to do except for shop but it's a very nice quiet town
  • Niche User
  • Nov 13 2015
The area is beautiful. There is much to see and do all around the whole town.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 24 2015
Living in Branford is great because it's the perfect beach town. Everyone knows everyone and it is a very close knit community with beautiful scenery.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 10 2015
Housing costs are way too high now s although I would choose o live here again, the costs would probably be prohibitive.
  • Parent
  • Aug 5 2015
My neighbors are great but the residents outside my immediate neighborhood seem to be a bit phony to me
  • Parent
  • June 27 2015
In Branford, your sense of community really is based off of where you live. In most areas that are not on the shoreline, there's very little, but on the shore, most neighborhoods have days long block parties to celebrate their community. It's amazing what they can put together.
  • Niche User
  • May 8 2015
The houses in Branford are still recovering from the great condominium build of the 1980s and 90s, so the town is very slowly getting it's act together. There's still quite a few blighted properties, which you mostly notice as you go further back from the shoreline. Those further back from the shoreline are generally either farm-like, or in the woods, if they're not condominiums. On the shoreline people take great pride in how their houses look, which are generally very close together with small yards.
  • Niche User
  • May 8 2015
  • 1 of 2
Back to Branford Home