Brighton
55 reviews
  1. Suburb of Rochester, NY
Back to Brighton Home

Reviews

55 reviews
  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    23
  • Average
    21
  • Poor
    5
  • Terrible
    1
My relatives moved to brighton in the 1800's. I love the ease of the location. The schools are amazing . The people very friendly. It's a community unlike any other. I would describe Brighton NY as a present time Mayberry . Walking the streets on a moon lite evening the street lights glowing as we stroll through our neighborhood .
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
From a one bedroom to a 20 . All available
  • Parent
  • 5 months ago
Love the area and the people. Only complaint.. Taxes
  • Parent
  • 5 months ago
The crime rate, like all these days does happen. The police in the area are on it.
  • Parent
  • 5 months ago
You have it all you would need. The beautiful waters edge. The lush green parks. acres of apple orchards. Wild life runs free. The suburbs of Rochester is just a majestic place to reside
  • Parent
  • 5 months ago
Repairs roads every summer. I always feel safe. Police respond whenever you need.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
It's so nice and inviting. Small town but not too small. Very safe.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Rochester has a high crime rate. In the suburbs the police respond immediately, but when you go into more rural areas, the cops are more laid back. They do not respond as fast. For example areas such as Avenue A-D are pretty bad, someone is getting shot there every day. Even in the suburbs, Brighton has the highest rape cases. I'm sure every city has their crimes, but when outsiders coming from other cities hear you're from Rochester they already know that our crime rate is high and do not want to visit.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
In Rochester, there are 4 seasons all year round instead of 1. The overall cost of living here isn't that much. When people think of New York, they automatically think of New York City. Rochester is nothing like New York City. It is a much quieter place. I would choose to live here again only because of family and the fact that I am familiar with it. I really don't see Rochester getting any better or worse.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
Rochester is one of the most crime-ridden cities in the US.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
Lots of diversity and opportunity to get to know people from different walks of life. Lots of crime and police brutality in the city, however.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
The people here seem friendly on the outside, but a lot of them will insult or talk bad about you behind your back.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 7 2015
There is no gym or fitness location in the area. You'll have to travel in order to find one.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 7 2015
I've actually never seen or heard about a crime in the area.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 7 2015
For the most part, we have little in the way of natural disasters. The only thing we have to contend with is very cold weather almost year round.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 7 2015
The local Chinese, Mexican, and Italian eateries are excellent!
  • Niche User
  • Apr 7 2015
After the loss of Kodak, the job market is not doing so well in Rochester. However, it's not nearly as bad as some other areas that I know of.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 7 2015
They seem to be okay to me. The police and fire department have always been prompt when I've called.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 12 2015
I know Rochester has a high homicide rate, but I don't see it, myself.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 12 2015
TONS of snow, but I grew up there so I am used to it.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 12 2015
  • 1 of 3
Back to Brighton Home