Brockton
143 reviews
  1. Suburb of Boston, MA
Back to Brockton Home

Reviews

143 reviews
  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    32
  • Average
    80
  • Poor
    19
  • Terrible
    5
Brockton is a very diverse community. It has all sorts of religions, ethnicities, languages, and backgrounds. And one of the worst parts about Brockton is that there is trash and litter everywhere you look. It is unhealthy and is hurting the environment. Also, the water drains on the streets are filled with trash and dirt, and the city doesn't have the budget anymore to clean them so when it rains, the water has no place to go on the roads except for a few clean drains, if you're lucky. And the very worst thing about Brockton that needs to be turned around as soon as humanly possible, is the huge amount of homeless people on the streets. Brockton has one of the highest numbers of homeless residents in the state. We need to find them homes, warmth, food, safety, and jobs. We need to worry about our people and take care of them because they are just like you and I but with less money and more heart.
  • Current Resident
  • 7 days ago
What I like about Brockton is it is very diverse. With people of many backgrounds and from many different places. The public transportation is great, and reliable. We have out own mall thats attracts people from surrounding towns. Brockton only has one public high school
  • Current Resident
  • 15 days ago
Born and raised in the city of Brockton, it has been a wonderful experience. Making the best of it's resources and making it safer everyday.
  • Current Resident
  • 15 days ago
Brockton has gotten a bad reputation over the years, but is over comping that stereotype!
The school system is second to none! Being such a diverse city, you get to meet people with different customs, cultures and ideas. This definitely helps you to be a well-rounded individual.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Brockton, Massachusetts overall has been good to me. Throughout my childhood, teen years, and even now: my young adulthood, I have had wonderful experiences. Also, the people that I met along the way have been pleasurable. For example, the public schools are awesome, even Massasoit community college, hidden in the east! My teachers and professors (the good and the bad ones) all have inspired me in some way to be one. Brockton is a hidden gem with abundant opportunity (the city of champions). However, I do wish there were higher sidewalks, and brighter street lights.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
A city with loads of diversity, amazing schools, and great history! This town has been my home since I was young, and I recommend many to live here out of the city.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
A good area so far. Cold weather and fewer crimes depending on which side you live in. Buying houses are expensive, but i love how the buses go around the city. One thing i also love is the westgate mall. It's a great shopping experience.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Easy selections. Better if you could select half of a star. Option to answer more questions instead of writing review. My review should not have to be at least 100+ characters, however it should be shortened to at least 30 - 50 characters because its what I think and not something you want a person to make to fill up character space with irrelevant remarks.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
It's not safe to raise children here. Certainly not to send them to school. I would rather live in Canton.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I see a community that is united in supporting education and the kids in the community. The kids are able to play outside in the area and feel safe in their own neighborhoods.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I found my experience extremely helpful and easy. This was informative and I enjoyed putting my input on my community onto this website. I think that it is awesome that we have the ability to enter our ratings which allows other people to benefit from the information.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Living here has been okay for me. What I like about Brockton is its diversity and also the many activities held here for all ages, whether it's sports, organizations, etc. I also love the fact that I get to attend a Level 1 school, Brockton High. I was also grateful to attend Davis K-8 for my middle school years (6th-8th), which helped me prep well for MCAS and ongoing high school. Overall, though I will be moving out of the state sometime around my college years, I'm happy to be a Brockton Boxer, to live in the city of champions and to be able to get a great education at a level one school.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Bad drug problem in this area.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
As a high school student in Brockton, I'm thankful for the academic opportunities the public schools supply. It's a very comforting city to live in, seeing representation of all types of cultures and disciplines. The experience is unprecedented and there is a great tolerance and advocacy for those of minorities. The only struggle is the lack of funds the state supplies us, but the city works around it because we're the city of champions after all! We refuse to back down, we take no L's.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
It's a very nice quiet neighborhood.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
There are crimes all over the country some worst than others . There are things that happen in Brockton such as friends killing each other or enemies etc . However , it is not an everyday thing . And there are cops almost everywhere, that are keeping an eye on the neighborhood .Where I live i have not heard or seen anything wrong . I have had my tires slashed once from who knows who / and also my radio stolen but hey ! I am sure that happens other places as well not just Brockton . I paid to fix my radio and my tires I did not pursue anyone even though we could have sent the camera tape to the cops . It only happen once and It have not happened again . I try to protect myself by coming home early however sometimes I stay later at school , and I come a bit late but nothing have ever happen to me as I am entering my house . Its not the best but its also not the worse.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
Brockton is mostly known as a "bad" city . The minute someone hear "Brockton" they automatically get a bad feeling about it , you can see it in their face expression . Sometimes the person would also tell you that it is a "bad" city. However , I live in Brockton for 5 years after I moved from Haiti after the terrible earthquake; It is not as bad as people make it seem. I mean every city have some ups and some downs . We would never really be able to change everything overall in any city. If you spent a day in Brockton, I promise someone that you will like it . We have several things that people can enjoy such as the beautiful DW Feild Park , it is one of my favorite I just love going there for a run ,and even feed the ducks ! This is also where my high school is located, Brokton High School is known to be a great school . We also have one of the best community college out there. Oh my God ! I love Massasoit Community so much that I recently transferred to Bridgewater State University and i am still thinking about it . It was so calm and beautiful the atmosphere is so peaceful. We also have a museum , in addition we have other parks for children ,as well as adults .Once again , no where is perfect , most of the people in Brockton are very friendly . I enjoy living in Brockton . It might not be the best ,however it is not as bad as people make it seems.I would go somewhere else only because I like new things/new beginning . I would also want to see how other city are compared to Brockton. If we only focus on the bad things that are going on we will never see (BOB) the Beauty Of Brockton.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
So far, I have lived here for about 10 years. And, the crime rate fluctuates from time to time, the police try their very best to aid those in need and to keep crimes at a minimum.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
I live in the city of Brockton, and I've lived here for the majority of my life. The atmosphere here, is a very family oriented type of atmosphere, you don't really have to know everyone to know that they are here for you. It is dangerous to some, but being part of the dynamic helps you understand what it feels like living in an area such as this one. Everyone is on the outside looking in, but I'm on the inside and actually see things on a daily basis.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
This area is okay. We have a few family friends who live in this area, so it's not that bad. I'm friends with a few people in my neighborhood, and they're good people. However, whenever parties happen, it is absolute hell. They'll last into the next morning, and sometimes the police have to get involved to stop the party.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
  • 1 of 8
Back to Brockton Home