Brookings
56 reviews
  1. Town in South Dakota
Back to Brookings Home

Reviews

56 reviews
  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    22
  • Average
    27
  • Poor
    2
  • Terrible
    1
Good schools that are getting better, university cultural and athletic programming, terrific library, effective city government, consistent but manageable growth patterns, family-friendly environment (e.g., Children's Museum)
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Brookings is the perfect college town! It is small enough that it feels homey, yet has all the amenities necessary. The downtown is cute and has a good nightlife. There is a large variety of bars to choose from as well as many cute boutiques to fulfill your shopping needs! For a small town, Brookings has plenty of food choices to choose from, so the small town is not limited in that aspect. Another positive aspect about small town living is the people are close knit so they strongly support the college students. I moved from a bigger city to Brookings expecting the small town life to be boring and for the people not to care about the college, however I was pleasantly surprised after living here for almost four months. Brookings is a family friendly town that truly develops a relationship with students who attend the college. I could definitely see myself living here after I graduate!
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Brookings is great community. If you're looking for a place to go to college that isn't to big but isn't to small either this town may be a great fit for you. The residents of this community are very friendly. The downs night life is fun during the school year but as soon as college lets out the town becomes a ghost town
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I love the quaint, small town feel of Brookings, while still enjoying the college town experience. The residents of Brookings are friendly and helpful and it is an enjoyable community to reside in. I grew up in a small town similar to Brookings so it very much feels like home.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I have personally had my car broken into. My roommate has had her bike stolen. Our garbage can has been drug across the lawn and the garbage spread over the lawn.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
I feel that during the summer time when all the college students have left it is a very dead and boring town. With all the college students here there is an increase in crime as far as bikes being stolen, vandalizing people's yards, and breaking into cars.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
There has been an increase in drug activity, but that is happening everywhere.
  • Parent
  • 5 months ago
Great area - feel safe. People work together and care about each other.
  • Parent
  • 5 months ago
Whenever I leave my campus, no matter if it is two in the afternoon or two in the morning, I feel safe. This is because of the campus police and Brookings police. They are always patrolling and always on the lookout for anything going wrong.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
The SDSU campus has a very open and friendly atmosphere to it. The people you see are always willing to help and also just to have a small conversation with you, if you would like. I would choose to live on campus with SDSU because of its great atmosphere and how being on campus makes me feel more connected to college.So far out of all of the colleges that I have seen, SDSU is still my favorite.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Haven't had any issues at all!
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
Brookings is a nice small town. There are not too many events going on. They have a few parks, small, but it counts
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
We live in an area where it's easy to get things done.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 11 2016
We live in an older neighborhood with little or no college students in the area. But it's quiet and easy to get things done.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 11 2016
I always see the SDSU and Brookings police driving around and making sure that Brookings is safe not only to students but the residents in the community.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 11 2016
Brookings is a very tight nit community. Everyone within the Brookings community is involved in all Jackrabbit events and the support in the community is great.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 11 2016
This area is amazing. I would definitely live here again if I could because this is a safe and conserved area. This area ranks high in the country in terms of safety. The growth of this area is continuously increasing so I see nothing but a bright future here.
  • Niche User
  • Nov 30 2015
I am currently living in a college dorm, so I don't really know how to rate living in the town of Brookings. I have a few friends who live in Brookings and they really like their town.
  • Niche User
  • Sep 1 2015
I love living in Brookings South Dakota. The people here are better than the people anywhere else and I love how wide open spaces are not very far away.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 14 2015
I love this place. This is just right place for me to live as a student.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 13 2015
  • 1 of 3
Back to Brookings Home