Brookings
12 reviews
  1. Town in Oregon
Back to Brookings Home

Reviews

12 reviews
  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    3
  • Terrible
    0
I moved to Brookings, Oregon a year ago, and it has been pretty good so far. For the younger generation, there's not much to do but outdoor activities such as hiking, kayaking, etc. The fact that we are 15 minutes from the California border is amazing. You don't have to drive so far to another town to do something isn't so bad. Also, things close down too early in this town.
  • Current Resident
  • 7 days ago
I haven't seen any public buses and I've never seen a public train in southern Oregon, but this town has plenty of taxis and handicapped transportation for very cheap. There is always plenty of parking and nearly everything is in walking distance.
  • Niche User
  • May 16 2015
I think this town is absolutely beautiful and people seem friendly. The only thing I would really change is the fact that there is hardly any economic growth so jobs are hard to come by, which also makes finding a home to rent difficult. There seem to be quite a few homes for sale, but they can be pricey because of the scenery and location. Overall, I don't think this is a bad place to live,I just wish that there were more jobs.
  • Niche User
  • May 16 2015
I haven't been here very long so I'm not sure how the weather is year round. I know that there are frequently tsunami drills but I have yet to experience a bad storm. It is mostly sunny and a bit windy here, with occasional rain.
  • Niche User
  • May 15 2015
There are a few bars here, but only a couple of them serve food. The ones that I have been to have been decent, one in particular has excellent food and a great atmosphere, many nights have live bands. The other bars and restaurants are older and seem to be more run down. I don't think there are any clubs here, but I do not go out very often so I'm not sure.
  • Niche User
  • May 15 2015
There are no real hospitals but there are quite a few retirement homes. It is a coastal town so most people here work in the fishing or lumber type industry. Many people work at the grocery stores or the bars and restaurants. The town does not seem to be growing at all, it is mainly a retirement town.
  • Niche User
  • May 15 2015
There are not very many stores here, only two grocery stores and I haven't found any clothing stores. I travel out of town for my shopping except for groceries.
  • Niche User
  • May 15 2015
The area is populated by the elderly. Along with the demographic, the town is located in a wooded area. It's because of the geography of the town that most people take up nature based hobbies and activities, thus negating the need for nightclubs or bars.
  • Niche User
  • May 6 2015
Job openings are finite in Brookings. Although the quality of work isn't terrible, one may have to rely on the lumber mill for possible employment.
  • Niche User
  • May 6 2015
The businesses in this area pander to the elderly. Being an individual under the age of 30, I can't really find to many attractions that appeal to my demographic. My baser needs like food and clothing are met. Having said that, I consider Brookings too small and too limited to find attractive.
  • Niche User
  • May 6 2015
There are a few jobs here and some seem to have a somewhat high turn over rate, such as Bank Tellers. Many currently open jobs are either temporary or only part time, but there is a lot of competition. Also, given this town's close proximity to the Northern California border, there are many people from California coming up here to look for employment as well. There is a large Penitentiary in Northern California where many have found employment and they are usually hiring on a regular basis. There are also job opportunities in the health care field; although, we do not have a major hospital, there are doctor's offices (including specialty), an urgent care clinic, a small hospital in the next town (about 30 minutes up the coast), senior homes and communities as well as two behavioral health facilities/companies that focus on developmental and acquired disabilities.
  • Niche User
  • May 11 2014
Considering that this is quite a small town, it has almost everything that is needed for daily activities and living. The town does lack major retail stores and does not have any clothing stores other than second hand or thrift stores that sell clothes; but nothing along the lines of "Ross," "Macy's," or any of the other major retail store. There is a McDonalds, Dairy Queen and Taco Bell/KFC in the town that are fairly well ran. We used to have a few small town/mom-and-pop pharmacies, but those closed recently and were taken over by Rite Aid (which was just recently remodeled) and we have two grocery stores: Ray's and Fred Meyer. Ray's tends to be a bit overpriced, but they have loyalty cards. Fred Meyer is also a bit expensive, but also offers loyalty points and coupons. We also have a store called BiMart, which is actually owned by the employees and often has good sales on home items and other items but lacks a big selection pertaining to food. There are a few restaurants in town, including Chinese, a few bar and grills and bistros. One place in particular, called Superfly, is has really reasonable prices, good portion sizes and is absolutely delicious!
  • Niche User
  • May 11 2014
Back to Brookings Home