Brownsville
551 reviews
  1. City in Texas
Back to Brownsville Home

Reviews

551 reviews
  • Excellent
    48
  • Very Good
    182
  • Average
    265
  • Poor
    45
  • Terrible
    11
It's a great city to live in with a pot of great people. I would love to see our local government fix up roads and invest more in the future of our city.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 days ago
Brownsville is a beautiful city to visit when you want to go out. There's many food variations and they taste amazing. The view great! There's many palm trees and the sunsets are awesome.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 days ago
Brownsvill, the city I was born in ,where most are my memories.Brownsville is a family oriented community ,we are also right in the boarder with Mexico so you get to experience the friendship between two countries.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 days ago
This city is really calm and small. There isn't really A LOT to do, but there is definitely some. If you're Hispanic, you'll feel at home in this place. The UTRGV there is the most beautiful college campus I've ever seen.
  • Current Resident
  • 7 days ago
I think Brownsville Texas is a nice city to live in. There are a lot of places to go and have recreation like nice parks, the museum, the zoo and the mall where they have a movie theater. Talking about the health field there are two hospitals that provide great health care plus several clinics that have emergency a rooms to the benefit of the community. The schools here in Brownsville are very good and I can see that because my sister is going to a highschool here and she tells me that is very organized and they give good education. What I see that the government can do is try to fix some streets that are not in optimal conditions for the drivers.
  • Current Resident
  • 13 days ago
Brownsville is a very nice historic place, but there are several things in the city that needs to be remodeled. Some streets are badly cracked and have pot holes. I would also love to see a decrease in the amount of stray animals in my city of, Brownsville.
  • Current Resident
  • 15 days ago
Brownsville is a nice town at the end tip of Texas. It has the beach 30 minutes away and the border to Mexico in the opposite direction. A hybrid between American and Mexican culture, truly beautiful.
  • Current Resident
  • 20 days ago
Brownsville is a small town mainly inhabited by Hispanics. It is a very safe and calm place to raise a family. It is extremely family friendly. People in general are very nice, you might never hear of a hate crime etc. The downside is that there isn't much to do at nights. There is many trails and parks here in Brownsville though. Also Brownsville his along the border of Mexico which is obviously a plus.
  • Current Resident
  • 20 days ago
Fun going town, but definitley need more attractions like an ice skating ring, dave and busters, and a better nightlife area like 6th street in Austin, TX
  • Current Resident
  • 27 days ago
Brownsville is a growing Texas city. Their people are welcoming and respectful. Their mix culture is amazing and rich. It needs improvement on infrastructure and downtown image. Their education programs is amazing and will continue to grow. Very nice town to live in.
  • Current Resident
  • 28 days ago
What I like about Brownsville is that it is a small town with almost no casualties when it comes to people in danger. A lot of the people that live here call it boring Brownsville and to be honest its pretty nice to have some boring in your life. If I would change anything in Brownsville it would be to make it more touristic for the people to come shop and enjoy its hot and windy weather.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I love that it's a city that isn't too big yet not too small, either, it's just the perfect size. It has a lot to do, at least in my opinion and the only downside would be the weather, but it's understandable since it's on the coast.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I like about Brownsville that it's a family oriented city. I would like the cost of living to change at a more economical standard, for colleges to be tuition free, for school districts to do away with the STAR testing and tests like that, for it to be a pet friendly city, and things like that.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
When you live at the bottom of Texas right next to the border. Living on your toes is a regular occurrence. With border patrol Helicopters , Vehicles , and Boats patrolling all the time. Gives you a natural sense of alertness. But needless to say aside from that " excitement " there really isn't a whole lot Brownsville has to offer for entertainment , family , or job wise. It really is a hard living town , especially with some areas of the city being abandon do to high real estate . Most people who struggle to find a job have equal problems in making it through with payments. I have felt the full power of harshness ranging from high cost of living , low job opportunity , and the high market making difficult to live here at some points. But we can't do much but keep our heads up and continue on forward.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I have lived here for about 4 years it has been nice so far. It is growing and will continue to do so and it has been nice to be part of the growth.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Downtown is a cool experience but the streets need fixing and more nightlife needs to be happening.
  • Former Resident
  • 3 months ago
Brownsville is the city on the border by the sea. We don't have much variety of things to do here, but what we do have that many don't is our island, South Padre Island. It is about 20 minutes away from our city. I wouldn't change that doesn't anything. We have a very close community.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I liked that the people were generally nice. There was not much to do, but there was some cool fishing spots. I really wouldn't change anything it was pretty peaceful. Its a great place to raise a family and the overall community is developing. Ampels just got a contract that will generate more jobs in the near future.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Basically, since it is a rather small city, most people know each other. No complete interaction, but know who they are and the privacy they need, or want.
  • Former Resident
  • 3 months ago
The Mexican culture in Brownsville is beautiful. The community is so friendly and open minded. This city is very family oriented. Brownsville has a little bit of everything. It's growing more and more every year for the better.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 28
Back to Brownsville Home